Foss vessels win Devlin safety awards

Written by Nick Blenkey
image description

Susan Hayman of Foss receiving the award from Bruce Fernie, CSA Chairman (left) and Richard Russell, CSA Vice Chairman (right)

JUNE 6, 2014—The Chamber of Shipping of America (CSA) has recognized Foss Maritime’s commitment to safety by awarding 73 vessels for outstanding safety records.
The 73 Foss vessels were recognized as 2013 Jones F. Devlin award winners at the CSA Annual Safety Awards Luncheon held May 29, 2014 in New Orleans.

The award is given to self-propelled merchant vessels that have operated for two full years or more without a crew member losing a full turn at watch because of an occupational injury. The Jones F. Devlin award publicly recognizes the skills and dedication of the men and women who are responsible for those safe vessel operations.
Altogether, the Foss vessels achieved the equivalent of 483 years without a lost-time injury.

“Safety is part of our operational culture and in everything we do,” said Paul Stevens, Foss president and CEO. “We’re very proud of our program, training, resources and operations. The men and women of Foss, who work hard to earn us this recognition, are our greatest asset and their safety and well being are our highest priority.”  

Of Foss’ 73-awarded vessels, 57 achieved five or more years of incident-free operation, with 10 of those vessels attaining 10 or more years.

Categories: Safety and Security Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply