Clay Maitland announces NAMEPA Award winners

Clay-MaitlandSEPTEMBER 19, 2012 — Clay Maitland, Founding Chairman of the North American Marine Environment Protection Association (NAMEPA), has announced the recipients of NAMEPA's 2012 Marine Environment Protection Awards.  

Maersk is the winner of the Corporate Award; NOAA the winner in the Government Agency category; SUNY Maritime College is the Education category; and the American Salvage Association (ASA) the non-profit/NGO category winner.  

The awards will be presented at NAMEPA's 5th Anniversary Awards Dinner to be held at Chelsea Piers' The Lighthouse in New York following NAMEPA's Environmental Intelligence in Maritime Conference.

"We are delighted that the North American Marine Environment Protection Association has awarded these groups with the respective 2012 Marine Environment Protection Awards," said Mr. Maitland.  "Our award categories were expanded this year to reflect the many sectors that are engaged in the important business of 'Saving our Seas.'"
er company APL and last year cruise giant Royal Caribbean Cruises Ltd.

Accepting their 2012 NAMEPA Marine Environment Protection Awards will be John Reinhart for Maersk, Dave Westerholm for NOAA, RADM Wendi Carpenter for SUNY Maritime College, and Tim Beaver for the American Salvage Association.

Tables for the NAMEPA Awards dinner, and tickets for the afternoon seminar, may be obtained by contacting Teressa Diaz-Hennessey at [email protected]  or by calling +203 255 4686.  Admittance is by reservation only and is limited.

Want more? Subscribe now!

Subscribe to Marine Daily for breaking marine news