ASNE announces award recipients

asnelogoThe American Society of Naval Engineers (ASNE) celebrates excellence in naval engineering by recognizing individuals who have demonstrated exceptional achievement in one or more facets of the industry. Today,  the society announced the recipients of the following prestigious awards:

2011 Gold Medal Award (Engineering) Recipient - Dr. Douglass Post, Chief Scientist, DoD High Performance Computing Modernization Program
Presented annually since 1958, the Gold Medal is given to an individual who has made a significant naval engineering contribution in a particular area during the past five years.

2011 Harold E. Saunders Award (Lifetime Achievement) Recipient - Mr. Glenn M. Ashe
Presented annually since 1977, the Harold E. Saunders Award honors an individual whose reputation in naval engineering spans a long career of notable achievement and influence.

2011 Claud A. Jones Award (Fleet Engineering) Recipient - Mr. Larry A. Wilkerson
Presented annually since 1987, the Claud A. Jones Award is given to a fleet or field engineer who has made significant contributions to improving operational engineering or material readiness of our maritime forces during the past three years.

2011 Solberg Award (Research) Recipient - Mr. Jeffrey E. Boisvert, Senior Research Mechanical Engineer, Sensors and Sonar Systems Department, NUWC Newport
The Solberg Award, presented annually since 1967, is awarded to an individual who has made a significant contribution to naval engineering through personal research during the past three years.

2011 Clifford G. Geiger Award (Naval Logistics) Recipient - Mr. Jeffery G. Orner, Deputy Assistant Commandant for Engineering and Logistics Commandant (CG-4D)
Awarded to naval logistics professionals who, over a period of years, have exemplified the ideals portrayed by Mr. Clifford G. Geiger through exceptional leadership and influence within the naval logistics community, determined efforts to strengthen the synergy between engineering and logistics, and dedication to enhancing the capability and stature of the naval logistics profession through increased emphasis on education and professional development for naval logisticians.

2011 Frank G. Law Award (Service to ASNE) Recipient - Dr. E. Michael Golda, Chief Technologist, Machinery Research and Engineering Department, Naval Surface Warfare Center Carderock Division (NSWCCD)
Originally presented in 1980, the Frank G. Law Award is given to an individual whose longtime dedication and service to the Society is deemed worthy of special recognition.

2011 Frank C. Jones Award (Intermediate/Depot Maintenance & Alterations) Recipient - Mr. William F. Clifford, President, BAE Systems Ship Repair
The Frank C. Jones Award, named for RADM Frank C. Jones, a past President of ASNE, is presented for major achievements in Maintenance and Alteration. The award recognizes Naval Engineering professionals who, over a period of the last ten years, culminating in the most recent previous year, have substantially and significantly contributed to their agency's intermediate and/or depot-level ship maintenance and/or alteration programs that involve the complex work of managing, planning, preparation and/or execution of extensive repairs, overhauls, upgrades and/or modernizations.

2011 Rosenblatt Young Naval Engineer Award Recipient - Mr. John C. Hootman, Major Defense Acquisition Programs Analyst, Programming Division, OPNAV N80
Established in memory of Mandel and Lester Rosenblatt, the Rosenblatt Young Naval Engineer Award is presented to a person under 35 years of age who has demonstrated remarkable, early professional achievement in one or more areas of naval engineering.

2010 "Jimmie" Hamilton Award Recipient - CDR Joshua LaPenna, USN, Instructor, USNA Naval Architecture & Ocean Engineering Department
The "Jimmie" Hamilton Award, presented annually since 1967, is awarded to the best paper to appear in the Naval Engineers Journal. ASNE will present the 2010 Hamilton Award to CDR LaPenna at ASNE Day 2012 as he was serving in Iraq at the time of last year's awards.

Many of the Annual ASNE Awards will be presented next week at ASNE Day 2012, which takes place February 9-10, 2012 at the Hyatt Regency Crystal City, Arlington, Va.

February 3, 2012

Want more? Subscribe now!

Subscribe to Marine Daily for breaking marine news