Save the dates!

IMO is looking at a global levy (tax) on marine fuels. Do you think this is

a really good idea
an unfortunate necessity
a bad idea
a really bad idea

Marine Log

June 3, 2008

Murtha named Bateman Award winner

The American Shipbuilding Association (ASA) today announced that Congressman John P. Murtha (D-PA) is the 2008 recipient of the Herbert H. Bateman Award.

The award will be presented on Wednesday, June 4th at 6:00 pm during ASA's Salute to the 110th Congress reception in the Gold Room (2168) of the Rayburn House Office Building.

ASA says that Congressman John Murtha has dedicated his life to serving his country both in the military and in the halls of Congress. He has represented the 12th Congressional District of Pennsylvania since 1974 and has been a leader in deciding military spending priorities in Congress, where he serves as the Chairman of the House Defense Appropriations Subcommittee.

"Chairman Murtha knows all too well how important it is for the Nation to have a robust fleet of Navy, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard ships to promote peace and security here at home and far from our shores. He understands the importance of a strong shipbuilding industry to build and support our sea services. For these reasons, he has been a consistent fighter for a larger fleet of military and commercial ships for more than three decades," stated Cynthia L. Brown, President of ASA.

The Herbert H. Bateman Award was established by the American Shipbuilding Association in 2000. This Award is the shipbuilding industry's highest recognition of an individual in the Executive Branch, Legislative Branch, or industry who has demonstrated years of consistent, outstanding, and inspirational leadership in fighting for a stronger shipbuilding industry. Congressman Herb Bateman of Virginia, the award's namesake, demonstrated these qualities throughout his tenure in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1981 2000.

Previous recipients of the Herbert H. Bateman award are: Herbert H. Bateman (R-VA); Olympia Snowe (R-ME); Gene Taylor (D-MS); Ted Stevens (R-AK); Duncan Hunter (R-CA); Trent Lott (R-MS); Jo Ann Davis (R-VA), and; Susan Collins (R-ME).

The American Shipbuilding Association's members include America's six largest shipyards and 93 companies engaged in the manufacture and service of ship systems and components.

marine log logo

Save the dates!