Click Here


You're ordering a ship tomorrow. Where will you get the best price?

S. Korea

Marine Log

November 29, 2007

ABS elects new members

At its recent Board of Directors and Council meetings ABS, elected 26 prominent members of the shipping and offshore industries as new members of the society, as well as electing a new to its technical committee and two corporate officer positions.

"Classification is the principal self regulating mechanism for the marine and offshore industries," said ABS Chairman & CEO Robert D. Somerville. "To encourage the vital input from industry that is needed for us to continue to develop superior standards that promote the safety of life, property and the natural environment it is essential that our membership reflect a broad spectrum of interests from all sectors of the industry, each eminent in their particular field."

The newly elected members serving a five year term are:

Mark W. Barker, President, Interlake Steamship Company
Angela A. Chao, Senior Vice President, Foremost Group
Andrea Cosulich, Managing Director, Fratelli Cosulich
Mike J. Dowdy, Vice President of Engineering, Rowan Companies, Inc.
Capt. John Engstrom, Shipowner, Dag Engstrom Rederi AB
Angeliki N. Frangou, Chairman & CEO, Navios Maritime Holdings, Inc.
Aditya Ashok Garware, Vice Chairman & Managing Director, Garware Offshore Services, Ltd.
James J. Gaughan, President, James J. Gaughan & Associates Inc.
Dr. Bruce Hall, President & Chief Operating Officer, SeaOne Maritime Corp
Ho-Chung Kim, CEO, Daehan Shipbuilding Co., Ltd.
Capt. Shiuan-Yu Kuo, Second Vice Group Chairman, Evergreen Group
Tae-Jin Kwon, President & CEO, SLS Shipbuilding Co., Ltd.
Jong-Ho Lee, President, JINSE Shipbuilding Co., Ltd.
Kevin Mackay, Regional Director-Americas, AET Inc. Limited
Ing. Luis M. Ocejo R., Technical and Fleet Managing Director, Grupo TMM,
Erny Otterspoor, President, Marine Transport Lines, Inc
Pham Binh Thanh, Chairman & CEO, Vietnam Shipbuilding Industry Group
Kohzoh Satake, Vice Chairman, Tsuneishi Holdings Corporation
Angel Saucedo Escobar, General Manager of Maintenance & Operations, CEMEX
Arun Sharma, Executive President & CEO, India Steamship
Hyun-Tae Shin, CEO, Sekwang Shipbuilding Co., Ltd.
Geok-Seng Tan, President & CEO, Keppel AmFELS Inc.
Nikolas E. Tavlarios, President, Aegean Marine Petroleum Network, Inc.
Valeriy Temezhnikov, Senior Deputy General Manager, Novoship (UK) Limited
Tran Van Liem, General Director, Vinashin Ocean Shipping Co., Ltd.
Alexis P. Zoullas, Vice President, Norland Shipping & Trading Corporation

Elected to the ABS Technical Committee for a three year term was Rear Admiral Brian M. Salerno, U.S. Coast Guard.

Elected as a Corporate Officer of the society was ABS Chief Engineer, Robert A. Guiffra.

ABS Chief Financial Officer Jeffrey J. Weiner , was elected a Corporate Senior Vice President of the organization.