Title XI Funding
Should Congress fund the Title XI program in FY2007?


Marine Log

June 6, 2007

Senator Susan Collins receives 2007 Bateman Award

The American Shipbuilding Association (ASA) has awarded Senator Susan Collins (R-ME) the 2007 Herbert H. Bateman Award.

The American Shipbuilding Association's members include America's six largest shipyards and more than 70 companies engaged in the manufacture of ship systems and components.

The ASA established the Bateman award in 2000 in as "the shipbuilding industry's highest recognition of an individual in the Executive Branch, Legislative Branch, or industry who has demonstrated years of consistent, outstanding, and inspirational leadership in fighting for a stronger shipbuilding industry. Congressman Herb Bateman of Virginia, for whom the award is named, demonstrated these qualities throughout his tenure in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1981--2000.

Senator Susan Collins was elected to the United States Senate in 1996 and reelected in 2002. Senator Collins is Ranking Member and former Chairman of the Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee. She also serves on the Armed Services Committee.

"Senator Collins is a consistent, strong advocate for the shipbuilding industry of the United States. She helped to defeat the Navy's 'One Shipyard' policy to ensure that both Bath Iron Works and Ingalls continue to design and build surface combatants for the Navy. She promotes alternative financing methods for naval ships in order to increase the number of ships contracted annually, and she champions legislation to require that ships for our military be built in American shipyards," stated Cynthia L. Brown, President of ASA.

Previous recipients of the Herbert H. Bateman award are: Herbert H. Bateman (R-VA); Olympia Snowe (R-ME); Gene Taylor (D-MS); Ted Stevens (R-AK); Duncan Hunter (R-CA); Trent Lott (R-MS), and; Jo Ann Davis (R-VA).