May 16, 2005

DHS announces $140.8 million port security grant program

The U.S. Department of Homeland Security has announced a $140,857,128 port security grant program.

Sixty six port areas have been identified as eligible applicants for the FY 2005 Port Security Grant Program (PSGP). Inclusion of an area on this list is not a guarantee it will receive an award. Successful applicants will qualify through a competitive process.

Within the eligible port areas, applicants must be:

    Owners/operators of federally regulated ports, terminals, facilities, U.S. inspected passenger vessels, or ferries as defined in the Maritime Transportation Security Act (MTSA) 33 CFR Parts 101, 104, and 105;

    Port authorities or other State and local agencies that provide layered security protection to federally regulated facilities; or,

    Consortia composed of local stakeholder groups (i.e., river groups, ports, and terminal associations) representing federally regulated ports, terminals, U.S. inspected passenger vessels, or ferries.

A risk-based formula will be used to allocate funds to increase protection against potential threats from small craft, underwater attacks and vehicle borne improvised explosives, and to enhance explosive detection capabilities aboard vehicle ferries and associated facilities.

The new risk-based formula considers three elements: threat, vulnerability, and consequence. As part of this risk-management approach, the port security grant program will ensure federally regulated ports, terminals, and U.S. inspected passenger vessels receiving the funds represent assets of the highest national strategic importance, says DHS.

"Our nation's ports are centers for commerce, trade, and travel--areas our enemies could seek to attack in their attempts to defy freedom and liberty. These grants will help prepare and protect our nation to minimize risk and to win the war on terrorism," said Matt A. Mayer, Acting Executive Director of the Department of Homeland Security's Office of State and Local Government Coordination and Preparedness (SLGCP).

DHS says it designed the program in coordination with the Department of Transportation and the American Association of Port Authorities.

Port areas listed as eligible are:

Albany, N.Y.

Anchorage, Alaska


Baton Rouge, La.

Beaumont, Texas


Bridgeport, Conn

Camden, N.J.

Charleston, S.C.

Chattanooga, Tenn.


Corpus Christi, Texas

Freeport, Texas

Greenville, Miss.



Huntington, W. Va.

Jacksonville, Fla.

Kansas City, Mo.

Lake Charles, La.

Long Beach, Calif.

Los Angeles

Louisville, Ky.

Memphis, Tenn.




Mobile, Ala.

Nashville, Tenn.

New Haven, Conn.

New Orleans

Newport News, Va.

New York/New Jersey

Norfolk Harbor, Va.

Oakland, Calif.

Pascagoula, Miss.

Pensacola, Fla.



Plaquemines, La.

Port Arthur, Texas

Port Canaveral, Fla.

Port Everglades, Fla.

Port Hueneme, Calif.

Portland, Maine

Portland, Ore.

Portsmouth, N.H.

Providence, R.I.

Richmond, Calif.

San Diego

San Francisco

Savannah, Ga.


South Louisiana, La.

St. Louis

St. Paul, Minn.

Tacoma, Wash.

Tampa, Fla.

Texas City, Texas

Tulsa, Okla.

Valdez, Alaska

Vancouver, Wash.

Vicksburg, Miss.

Victoria, Texas

Wilmington, Del.

Wilmington, N.C.


Tell a friend: