Keep pace with ferry and fast craft developments. FERRIES AND FAST CRAFT NEWS

(click on image to subscribe)

June 9, 2004

Coordinated security checks planned

Lloyd's Register Classification News reports that various port state control authorities will simultaneously carry out a concentrated inspection campaign (CIC) commencing on the implementation date of the ISPS Code, July 1, 2004. This campaign will last until September 30, 2004.

Port state control authorities that will carry out this CIC include the U.S. Coast Guard and the authorities that cooperate via theParis, Tokyo and Black Sea MOU's.

During the CIC, the following will be checked by port state control officers:

  • the presence of a valid ISSC onboard
  • control of access to the vessel
  • control of access to sensitive areas of the ship
  • the security level at which the ship is operating, to ensure that it is operating at a level that is at least as high as that of the port facility, if not higher
  • that records are held of the last 10 ship-to-port or ship-to-ship interfaces
  • that security drills and exercises have been carried out at required intervals, taking account of crew changes
  • that the master and ship's personnel appear to be familiar with essential ship security procedures
  • whether key members of the ship's personnel are able to communicate effectively
  • whether a subsequent interim ISSC has been issued to avoid full compliance with ISPS
  • whether the ship identification number is permanently marked in a visible place.

If deficiencies are recorded against any of these items, action may be taken by the port state control officer or by the competent security authority.

The Paris MOU currently comprises : Belgium, Canada, Croatia, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and United Kingdom.

The Tokyo MOU currently comprises: Australia, Canada, Chile, China, Fiji, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, South Korea, Malaysia, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, the Philippines, Russia, Singapore, Thailand, Vanuatu and Vietnam.

The Black Sea MOU currently comprises: Bulgaria, Georgia, Romania, Russian Federation, Turkey and Ukraine.

Tell a friend: